Document versioning – Organizing your digital files

I like to keep incremental versions of documents I am working on. This way I feel I can go back a step if I mess something up. It also makes me feel better about deleting sentences and paragraphs I may have previously laboured over. I feel like I can always get them back if I want to – of course I almost never do, but there is a comfort in having the previous versions there just in case.

Word processing software like Word has versioning capabilities, but I tend to use a simple system of serially saving the file with a new name. I keep most of the name the same and just add a version number to the end of the filename. I often get up to version 17 or so when writing a particular section. Its really easy to see which is the most recent version – it’s the version with the biggest number.

clip_image001

If you print out versions its really important to put the name and date on each one so you can see which is which when you have a few hanging around. You can get Word to do this automatically by putting the filename and date fields into a header or footer . To see how to do this see this posting Automatically updating headers and footers on seehowtodo.wordpress.com .

clip_image002

Leave a comment